Reid and Wren

Recreate Thursday – on Old Lady Music

So this was supposed to be a post where I ‘recreate’ a house I find for sale online, but I haven’t had time to do that (see post yesterday on article for The Home Journal, oh, and Ari is sick. Sickness sucks). So instead I am writing about myself. Awse.

I thought I was old when I had children. I was positive I was old when I turned 30.

I was wrong.

I actually became old this morning. Or at least realised that its been creeping up and overtaken me, like a station wagon with those ‘My Family’ stickers on the back (which I would like to point out that I will never have. Unless they are My Zombie Family stickers- those are kinda cool). So back to my story… (has anyone noticed that I get distracted easily?). SO, back to my story….

When we got in the car this morning to drop Nick at work (the joys of being a one car family), it was tuned to Radio National, a national news-based station. He said ‘yes, I’ve been listening to Old Man Radio again’. He then promptly changed it back to JJJ (an alternative youth-focussed radio), which we have been listening to for the last ten years, and are have been firmly committed to. I then let him in on a little secret: when I am in the car by myself, I sometimes often tune into 106.3 (think the greatest hits of the sixties-naughties), as every time I turn over they are playing a really awesome song. To test my theory I changed the station to 106.3, and lo and behold (see, old) Michael Jackson’s Billie Jean was playing. Something you should know about me is that I am a MJ tragic from long back (Year 4 to be precise. Black or White was da BOMB).

It was then followed by Somebody that I used to know, by Gotye.  I loved this song when they played it on JJJ all the time, and because they were the first station to play it I feel ownership over it. Also, I discovered Gotye because I used to listen to him nonstop when Hearts a Mess came out. That’s how JJJ makes you feel- like you discover the artist, and they are playing just for me. But I digress.

But then the presenter came on. She was boring and I’m pretty sure she wasn’t the smartest kid in class, if you know what I mean. The conversation with the listeners (OMG- the listeners! Dora from Palmerston, why did you call up to compete in the music quiz if you didn’t even know that Shirley Manson is the lead singer of Garbage?) was dull and long-winded. So I turned back to JJJ, and THE MOST AWESOME song was playing by Alt-J ∆ (Fitz Pleasure) and I rocked out in the car. I listened to Zan Rowe for the rest of the morning.

Later I wanted to know what was going on in the news, so I turned over to Radio National.

So basically, I have eclectic taste. Either that, or none of Australia’s radio stations have quite figured out the young parent’s demographic and catered accordingly. Maybe there’s a gap in the market there… Anyone care to start a radio station?

This entry was published on June 13, 2013 at 9:17 pm. It’s filed under Recreate Thursday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

